Javier Moreno and Icarus quartet

Javier Moreno and Icarus quartet

Icarus Quartet performs Javier Moreno’s new piece called “Queen of the Limbo,” and “Textures” by Paul Lansky.

The ensemble Icarus Quartet formed by Larry Weng Piano, Yevgeny Yontov (Piano), Matt Keown (Percussion) and Jeff Stern (Percussion) premiere a brand new piece by Javier Moreno (Double Bass and Composition) called Queen of the Limbo. The piece a live musical photograph for double bass, two pianos, marimba, and vibraphone that seeks to reflect the current way of living, where we are constantly overwhelmed by external impulses that force us to live in an intermittent placebo effect. The overdose of information to which we are subjected is self-alienating; we are also in a state of permanent disconnection from humanity and the planet. In addition to the release, the group will also perform a piece by the composer Paul Lansky called Textures.

About Javier Moreno

Moreno is a composer and double bassist originally from Madrid, Spain. Upon finishing his classical education in his native city, he moved to Netherlands to attend the best jazz program in Europe, at the Royal Conservatory of The Hague. He holds a Bachelor degree in jazz performance from The K Conservatorium (Holland) and a Master’s degree in jazz performance from NYU.

During the past five years, he has resided in Madrid, Rome, Paris, Buenos Aires, and New York, where he has been dedicated to an intensive agenda of professional dissemination and the enrichment of his musical sensibilities in contemporary creation, jazz, flamenco, and creative music in addition to other disciplines.

  • Music
  • New York
  • Fri, February 09, 2018
  • 7:00 pm


Venue map

ShapeShifterLab, 18 Whitwell Pl, Brooklyn, NY 11215


Tickets: $10

More information