

# Lecture Series MadeinSpain\_USA: Houston



The MadeinSpain program involves three cities in three different states and includes a lecture in each city by a recognized Spanish architect, where his or her work is presented.

The Foundation for Contemporary Architecture has as part of its objectives to support the work of outstanding Spanish professionals, make their work know outside our country, and to contribute to a broader discussion of architecture in public and private sectors.

The *MadeinSpain* program involves three cities in three different states and includes a lecture in each city by a recognized Spanish architect, where his or her work is presented. After the lecture, a debate with a well-known critic from the host country and a representative of the Foundation for Contemporary Architecture takes place. *MadeinSpain* lectures have been recognized with the Spanish international Architecture Award, promoted by the Forum of the Spanish architecture of the Superior Council of Colleges of Architects of Spain –CSCAE Forum.

# LECTURE

- On Monday, February 22 at 5:30 pm.
- Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos (Fuensanta Nieto & Enrique Sobejano).

Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos was founded in 1985 by Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano and has offices in Madrid and Berlin. Along with being widely published in international magazines and books, the firm's work has been exhibited at the Biennale di Venezia in 2000, 2002, 2006, and 2012, at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York, in 2006, at the Kunsthaus in Graz in 2008 and at the MAST Foundation in Bologna in 2014. They are the recipients of

## DESIGN HOUSTON

Mon, February 22– Tue, February 23, 2016

## Venue

Rice University School of Architecture, 6100 Main St., MS 50, Houston, TX 77005 View map

#### Admission

Free

More information Fundación Arquitectura Contemporánea

## Credits

Organized by Fundación Arquitectura Contemporánea.



the 2007 National Prize for Restoration from the Spanish Ministry of Culture and the 2010 Nike Prize issued by the Bund Deutscher Architekten (BDA), as well as the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2010), the Piranesi Prix de Rome (2011), the European Museum of the Year Award (2012), the Hannes Meyer Prize (2012), AIA Honorary Fellowship (2015) and the Alvar Aalto Medal in 2015.

# ROUNDTABLE

- On Tuesday, February 23 at 12 pm.
- Fuensanta Nieto + Enrique Sobejano + Carlos Jimenez + Martha Thorne.

Enrique Sobejano (Madrid, Spain, 1957) has worked as an architect since graduating from the Universidad Polite?cnica de Madrid and the Graduate School of Architecture and Planning at Columbia University in New York in 1981. He is professor at the Universita?t der Ku?nste Berlin (UdK), where he holds the chair of Principles of Design. He has been a visiting critic and lecturer at various international universities worldwide. From 1986 to 1991 he was co-director of the architectural journal *Arquitectura*, published by the Colegio Oficial de Arquitectos de Madrid. He chairs and participates in international conferences and juries and is a founding partner of Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos.

Fuensanta Nieto (Madrid, Spain, 1957) has worked as an architect since graduating from the Universidad Polite?cnica de Madrid and the Graduate School of Architecture and Planning at Columbia University in New York in 1981. She is a founding partner of Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos and a professor at the Universidad Europea de Madrid. Fuensanta Nieto lectures on architecture and participates in juries and symposia at various institutions around the world. From 1986 to 1991 she was co-director of the architectural journal *Arquitectura*, published by the Colegio Oficial de Arquitectos de Madrid.

Carlos Jime?nez teaches both undergraduate and graduate studios and a seminar on the ethical and sensual dimension of materials. He began his teaching career at Rice as a visiting critic in 1987 and as full time faculty in 1997. Professor Jime?nez was born in San José, Costa Rica in 1959 and moved to the United States in 1974. He graduated with honors from the University of Houston College of Architecture in 1981, receiving best thesis and best portfolio awards. He established his own office, Carlos Jime?nez Studio, in Houston in 1983. He has taught at numerous universities and he has been and is a frequent lecturer, juror and visiting critic at universities and cultural institutions throughout the Americas, Europe, Japan and the Middle East. He is a long-term jury member of the Pritzker Architecture Prize (2001-2012).

Martha Thorne is currently Dean of IE School of Architecture and Design and is also the Executive Director of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, a position she has held since 2005.

From 1996 through 2005, she served as Associate Curator of the Department of Architecture at The Art Institute of Chicago. She is the co-author of the books *Masterpieces of Chicago Architecture and Skyscrapers: The New Millennium*, editor and author for *The Pritzker Architecture Prize: The First Twenty Years*, and author of numerous articles for architectural journals and encyclopedias. She regularly serves on international competition juries. She was as a Trustee of the



Graham Foundation for Architecture and the Fine Arts and on the Board of Directors of the International Archive of Women in Architecture.

Martha Thorne received a Master of City Planning degree from the University of Pennsylvania and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Urban Affairs from the State University of New York at Buffalo. She undertook additional studies at the London School of Economics.