Homage to Catalonia

Homage to Catalonia

In Celebration of the Centenary of Xavier Montsalvatge.

This landmark concert celebrates the centenary of Xavier Montsalvatge (1912–2002) with works by major Catalan composers little-known in the US, interspersed with film clips of performances and interviews. A PostClassical Production in association with the Foundation for Iberian Music and the Morgan.

  1. Timothy Fain, violin
  2. Harolyn Blackwell, soprano
  3. Lynn Baker, piano
  4. Perspectives Ensemble (Sato Moughalian, artistic director)
  5. Angel Gil-Ordóñez, conductor
Casals (arr.), The Song of the Birds (1971 film)
Montsalvatge, Canciones negras (soprano and piano), Cinco invocaciones al crucificado (soprano, ensemble), Concertino 1+13 (solo violin and chamber orchestra)
Robert Gerhard, Seven Haiku (soprano, ensemble), Libra (ensemble)
Interlude: Montsalvatge on film
Benet Casablancas, Homage to Montsalvatge (chamber orchestra)

Preconcert talk at 7 pm with Joseph Horowitz, artistic director of PostClassical Productions; Antoni Pizà, director of the Foundation for Iberian Music; and conductor Angel Gil-Ordóñez.

Buy tickets. This event is part of Monsalvatge Days to commemorate the centennial of the birth of Catalan composer Xavier Montsalvatge (March 11, 1912, Girona– May 7, 2002, Barcelona). Check out Ángel Gil Ordoñez’s SPAINRED profile.

  • Music
  • New York
  • Sep 28, 2012
  • 07:30 pm


Morgan Library, 225 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016

View on Google Maps



More information

Venue's website


With the support of Associació Xavier Montsalvatge Compositor, Acción Cultural Española, The Institut Ramon Llull, the Consulate General of Spain in New York, the Instituto Cervantes New York, the Hegardt Foundation, and The City University of New York.